Ruby Tuesday Foundation

Spirit of Sports Award

(2021 Ruby Warner – Spirit of Sport Award winner – Emma Haylock)(Simon Warner left, Jessica Stenson centre right and Matt Tscharke (Bendigo Bank West Beach far right)

Previous Award Winners

2023 Winner

Ariane Phillpotts-Jones

Ariane’s impressive achievements in SLSSA State Titles and her dedicated volunteer work at Christies Beach SLSC exemplify her commitment to surf lifesaving, inspiring future female surf lifesavers and enhancing community water safety.

2022 Winner

Lachlan Larven

Lachie’s remarkable rescue, earning him the SLSA Rescue Medal, showcases his unwavering dedication to saving lives. His compassion and leadership inspire both junior and senior members in lifesaving and the community.

2021 Winner

Emma Haylock

Emma Haylock, an inspiring champion in motorcycle sports, exemplifies hard work, sportsmanship, and a commitment to nurturing future generations, especially encouraging young girls in the sport.

Nurturing talent and compassion in sports

We are proud to be associated with Sport SA a non-government not for profit organisation providing advocacy, training and professional support to more than 140 member groups and affiliated bodies.

Each year Sport SA hosts one of the most prominent events on the SA sporting calendar, the South Australian Sports Awards, which honours those making outstanding contributions to sport in South Australia.

The Ruby Warner Spirit of Sport Award was first presented in 2021 and is now part of the annual presentations to be awarded each year with the South Australian Sports Awards.

The award is presented to an individual athlete who:

  1. is under 16 years of age
  2. has demonstrated an innate talent and love for their chosen sport; and
  3. has also shown selfless care and commitment to others, to ensure that they can participate and grow their ability and love for sport (just like Ruby did)